• Perfil

  • Sobre mí

    Apodos: Gaci y todos sus derivados

    Vivo en: Madrid

    Me gusta: correr, la fotografía, los libros

    Color: azul cielo y rojo

    Número: el 11

    Adoro: el buen tiempo, conducir con música, viajar

    Película: El efecto mariposa

    Un vicio: el hockey

    Un libro: Un milagro en equilibrio, Lucía Etxebarría

  • Escribe tu dirección de correo electrónico para suscribirte a este blog, y recibir notificaciones de nuevos mensajes por correo.

    Únete a otros 4 seguidores

What I know for sure

Pignoise – Cama vacía: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJZw6RibN2E

 “Reading. I love to live in another person´s thoughts and  I marvel at the bonds I feel with people who come alive on the page, regardless of how different their circumstances might be from mine. I not only feel I know these people, but also I recognize more of myself. Insight, information, knowledge, inspiration, power: all that and more may come through a good book”

(What I know for sure – Oprah Winfrey)

11_oprahletterman_lg

Oprah Winfrey (1954, Missipipi)
The Oprah Winfrey Show (1986-2011)
What I know for sure (1º edición septiembre 2014)

Decidí llevarme este libro la última vez que estuve en Barnes&Noble, la mejor cadena de tiendas que hay y habrá en Estados Unidos. Esta vez en Chicago, después de un par de horas cogiendo libros, mirando entre sus páginas y oliendo a hojas nuevas, me di una autosubención de unos 100$ y éste fue uno de los que elegí. Oprah Winfrey ha sido un personaje muy popular en la sociedad americana, y aunque el libro parecía un poco del estilo de autoayuda y candidato a tener muchos clichés de este estilo, me parecía también que algo sí se podría sacar de él. Además el hecho de que pareciera de redacción fácil para poder pasarlo a alguna amiga que quiere comenzar a leer en ingles inclinó la balanza para llevármelo.

En 1998 Oprah fue preguntada en una entrevista: “What do you know for sure Oprah?”, y la noquearon. Fue ahí cuando se planteó esta cuestión y comenzó una columna llamada así en la revista O. Tras 14 años de columnas, hace una recopilación en este libro. Y algo de provecho, en efecto, se puede sacar.

En este aspecto me sentí muy identificada con todos los años que tiene este blog: “I was a bit apprenhensive when it came to rereading fourteen years of columns for making this book. Would it be like looking back at photos of me in haircuts and outfits on decades ago that seemed like a good time at that time? I mean, what do you do if what you knew for sure back in the day turns into what were you thinking, here in the present?” 

 

“I know for sure that healing any wounds of the past is one of the biggest and most worthwhile challenges of life. It´s important to know when and how you were programmed, so you can change de program. How buried disagreements with your mother show up in arguments with your spouse. How unconscious feeling of unworthiness appear in everything you do (and don´t do). And doing so is your responsability, no one else´s, as there is one irrefutable law of the universe: we are each responsible for our own life. If you are holding anyone else accountable for your happines, you´re wasting your time. Begin noticing how everyday brings a new opportunity for your growth. All these experiences are life´s way of urging you to make yourself whole. Pay attention. Every choice gives you a chance to pave your own road. Keep moving. Full speed ahead”

[-]

“It is true that we all need the kind of relationships that enrich and sustain us. But it is also true that if your are looking for someone to heal and complete you- to shush that voice inside you that has always whispered you are not woth anything – you are wasting your time. Why? Because if you don´t already know that you have worth, there is nothing your friends, your family or your mate can say that will convice you of that. You have full responsability for your life, and with that responsability comes an amazing privilege: the power to give yourself love, affection and intimacy. You are the best mother, father, sister, brother, friend, cousin and lover you will ever have

[-]

When you make loving others the story of your life, there´s never a final chapter, because the legacy continues. You lend your light to one person, and he or she shines it on another and another and another. And I know for sure that in the final analysis of our lives – when the to-do lists are no more, when the frenzy is finished, when our e-mail inboxes and empty – the only thing that will have any lasting value is wherther we´ve loved others and whether they´ve loved us”

[-]

“I live in the space of thankfulness -a and for that I have been rewarded a million times over. I started out giving thanks for small things, and the more thankful I became, the more my bounty increased. That´s because – for sure – what you focus expands. When you focus on the goodness in your life, you create more of it”

[-]

“I gave to someone else, in the same way that someone had given to me. And I know for sure that´s what we´re here to do: Keep the giving going”

[-]

“For sure we live in a youth-obsessed culture that is constanly trying to tell us that if we are not young and hot we don´t matter. But I refuse to buy into such a distorted view of reality. And I would never lie about or deny my age. To do so is to contribute to a sickness pervading our society – the sickness of wanting to be what you´re not. Your are not the same person you were a decade ago, if you are lucky you are not the same person you were last year. The whole point of aging, as I see it, is change. If we let them, our experiences can keep teaching us about ourselves. I celebrate that, honor it, hold it in reverence. And I´m grateful for every age I am blessed to become”

[-]

“Until one day I got it. I had  to make a decision to either persue the life that was meant for me or to be stifled by the one I was living in. I was waiting on God, but it was God who was waiting on me. “

[-]

“Spirituality is not religion. You can be spiritual and not have a religious context. The opposite is true too: you can be very religious with no spiritual dimension, just doctrine. Spirituality isn´t something I believe in. It is what and who I am. Knowing this has made all the difference. It allows me to live fearlessly and I will be bold enough to say I know for sure it´s the greatest discovery of life: to recognize you´re more than your body and your mind”

[-]

“One of the thinks I often ask God: please show me how I really am. That may seem like an odd question. But as I go throight life, i want to never loose sight of the truth of my existence. One of my favourite life quotes comes from Teilhard de Chardin: we are not humans having and spiritual experience, we are spiritual beings having a human experience”.

6a00d8341c57a853ef00e5506173e08834-640wi

[-]

“Every night at sunset, friends and neighbors gather on my front proch to watch what we call the greatest show on Earth. We take pictures and compare the color variations of each magnificient light show as the sun dips below the horizon”

[-]

“I believe we make our paths far more difficult that may need to be. Our stuggle with and resistance to what is estangles us in constant chaos and fustration – when it is all so simple. Do unto others as you would have them to do unto you. And remember Newton´s third law : for every action there is an equal and opposite reaction. The energy you create and release into the world will be reciprocated on all levels. Our main job in life is align with the energy souce of all energies, love. This I know for sure”

[-]

“My highest achievement: never shutting down my heart. Even in my darkest moments I remained hopefull and willing to see the best in people, regardless of whether they were showing me their worst. I continued to believe no matter how hard the climb, there is always a way to let in a sliver of light to illuminate the path forward”

[-]

“Become the change you want to see – those are words I live by. Instead of belittling, uplift. Instead of demolishing, rebuild. Instead of misleading, light the way so that all of us can stand on higher ground”

[-]

“You get in life what you have the courage to ask for.”

Responder

